StrangerBitch!

“This ‘new’ Tracy? I don’t know her. I feel like we’re not as close as we used to be.”

Ouch. I had to compose myself…cause it hurt. Imagine hearing that from your best friend…of 12 years…over the telephone. I couldn’t believe it. I mean yeah, we don’t talk everyday like we used to…and sure when we do talk it’s mostly about work…but damn you don’t know me? Have I become a StrangerBitch?

I’m one of the only socially awkward extroverts I know. I’m told that I’m very likable yet I always struggle with getting others to like me. I’m allegedly a good listener, yet of all my friends I’m the Chatty McCatty of the crew. Polar opposites, right? Yeah…I know. This battle of wills is exactly what causes me to retreat into myself sometimes. Never in a million years did I think I had tucked my head into my shell for so long that when I emerged my best friend would render me practically unrecognizable?! I’m the same person I was before moving to Chicago, right? I mean, I feel I look I behave…well…damn. I guess when I think about it I am different. I’m more assertive when it comes to my personal life…I don’t take ANY shit (hell, my back is still recovering from being walked over for the last 20+ years). I’m focusing more on my career nowadays too. Not to mention the constant pressure on me to keep my Supermom cape flowing in the wind. Now I have to find the time to introduce (the new) me to someone who previously knew (the old) me better than me all over again?

It’s been 12 years since I made a friend…a best friend. Back then, she was the StrangerBitch. It all happened so fast! Who is she? Where did she come from? Is that how she dresses all the time? She likes sweet tea too? She’s kind of funny. We both recycle clothes that probably shouldn’t be recycled. Her eyes are from the Philippines, but that mouth is Naughty-by-Nawfuck! I think I like her. Yeah, I love her. She’s my sister from another mister. And here we are. Now that I’m the StrangerBitch, I clearly don’t plan on going through 12 years worth of brunch dates all over again that’s for damn sure!

Have you ever felt like you and a good friend are growing apart from each other? What did YOU do to bring the two of you closer together? I need ideas ya’all.

The invitation is given.

– Me

Leave a Reply

